150 Market Street #3 info@americanlatinoc.org

Happy Independence Day(s) Central America!!


If you have not yet noticed Central American countries (5) and its people have been and continue to celebrate, in the next few days, their independence from the Spanish Empire in 1821.

In the events of the Peninsular War, a series of revolts erupted in the province of El Salvador and Nicaragua who sought greater political autonomy and independence in Central America.

Central America gained its independence from Spain on September 15, 1821. Discussions turned into an enactment and soon after a proclamation known as the Act of Independence of Guatemala, or the Act of Independence of Central America. The proclamation was signed off by the provinces of San Salvador (Salvador), Comayagua (Honduras), Nicaragua and Costa Rica. However, the municipal councils came to accords later that they should form new Central American states rather than just one (Kingdom of Guatemala, in that time) and today there are 5 Central American countries.

September 15, 2016 marks 195-year anniversary since the congress of Central America declared their independence from Spain, and where the Kingdom or Captaincy General of Guatemala (including the countries of Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua and Costa Rica) became a free sovereign nation.

Mapa de Centro America

Photo Credit: Google Images

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *